New Music Concerts: David Eagle and the Art of Interactive Electronics

  “Press releases and announcements” are presented verbatim without comment.

David Eagle and the Art of Interactive Electronics
Friday, November 1 at 8PM at Betty Oliphant Theatre
Traditional instruments make music with computers,
iPhone and Kinect sensor

For Immediate Release – Toronto, October 15, 2013: For the second concert of its 43rd season, New Music Concerts’ artistic director Robert Aitken asked Calgary-based composer David Eagle to curate a concert showcasing some of the most exciting young composers working in the field of electroacoustics and interactive media. The concert will include recent works by Jimmie LeBlanc, Anthony Tan, Anna Pidgorna, Hans Tutschku and a New Music Concerts commission from Eagle himself for voice, ensemble and live electronics. Guest artists Xin Wang (soprano), Julia Den Boer (piano), Katelyn Clark (harpsichord) and Rachel Mercer (cello) join the New Music Concerts Ensemble and Robert Aitken (solo flute and direction).

Curator David Eagle (b.1955 Canada) is Professor of Composition and Electroacoustic Music at the University of Calgary. He is represented by two works on the program, Fluctuare for solo flute and electronics written for Robert Aitken in 2009 (first performed at the Happening New Music Festival in Calgary of which Eagle is the director), and the world premiere of the commission Unremembered Tongues noted above. The new work features texts in various languages including Latin, Blackfoot, Basque, Hawaiian, Cree and several indigenous Australian dialects. The composer will use a Kinect sensor to shape the music through physical gestures and an iPhone to trigger the programmed changes in the processing. Soprano Xin Wang is the soloist.

Composer and guitarist Jimmie LeBlanc was born in rural Quebec in 1977. He composed Lignes d’ombre (Shadow Lines) for harpsichord, piano and electronics for the Contemporary Keyboard Society in 2011. Katelyn Clark will reprise her role at the harpsichord and Julia Den Boer will be the pianist.

Anthony Tan is a Chinese-Malaysian composer born in Canada in 1978 now residing in Germany. On the Shadows of Ideas for piano and electronics (2013) was commissioned by the Experimental Studio SWR, Freiburg. Julia Den Boer who premiered the work is the soloist.

Anna Pidgorna (b. 1985) is a Ukrainian-born Canadian composer and media artist who combines her interests sound, visual art and writing to create works that are dramatic and picturesque. She is currently based in Vancouver, BC. The Child, bringer of light for solo cello with optional amplification (2012) was inspired by Carl Jung’s archetype of the Child. Rachel Mercer is the cellist in this Toronto premiere.

Hans Tutschku (b.1966 Germany) is the only non-Canadian on the program. His work, “behind the light for string quartet and electronics (2011) is a reflection on reflections. What surfaces are capable of reflecting incoming light? How does this alter color and how do the qualities of the reflections change the visual atmosphere? behind the light is an exploration of the relationship between source and multiplication.”

David Eagle and the Art of Interactive Electronics

November 1 at Betty Oliphant Theatre (404 Jarvis Street).

Introduction 7:15 | Concert 8:00

Xin Wang, soprano; Julia Den Boer, piano; Katelyn Clark, harpsichord; Rachel Mercer, cello;

New Music Concerts Ensemble, Robert Aitken, solo flute and direction


Lignes d’ombre (2011) piano, harpsichord, electronics

Fluctuare (2009) flute, computer

Pose II – On the Shadows of Ideas (2013) piano, electronics

Unremembered Tongues (2013) voice, ensemble, electronics

The Child, bringer of light (2012) amplified cello

behind the light (2011) string quartet, electronics


Individual Tickets: $35 (regular)/$25 (seniors/arts workers)/$10 (students) –

Prices include 13% HST

Box Office: 416 961-9594

New Music Concerts: 157 Carlton Street, Suite 203  Toronto ON M5A 2K3

416.961.9594 / fax 416.961.9508  /

New Music Concerts gratefully acknowledges the support of The Canada Council for the Arts; Toronto Arts Council; The Department of Heritage through the Canadian Arts Presentation Fund; The Province of Ontario through the Ontario Arts Council and the Ontario Arts Foundation Endowment Fund; The Mary-Margaret Webb Foundation; The Koerner Foundation; The McLean Foundation; The SOCAN Foundation; The Amphion Foundation Inc.; Stefan Wolpe Society;  Music Toronto; The Royal Conservatory; Roger D. Moore; Edward Epstein and Gallery 345.

This entry was posted in Press Releases and Announcements. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s